Feeds and Footable

Feeds and Footable

Feeding data from a .CSV file into a Drupal Content Type and then formatting the information using a view and the footable responsive table module.

Prepare the Excel file that you will convert to CSV - open up Excel and in the first row add the headers. Feeds importer requires a global ID to uniquely identify nodes. So the first column should contain this unique identifier. In my case the file I created and used for importing was us-500rec.csv. This contained a series of 500 customer records with the first column being a unique identifier.

Setup the Feeds Importer, and then imported records into the content type I created to hold the information.

I then created a view, using the footable table structure. Extra information related to the record can be obtained simply by clicking on the '+' which will expand the record showing underlying data.

Works fine for a one-to-one mapping, but need to try on content types which have relations defined to see if mapping and import holds up. As Drupal 8 has been rewritten to make sure that everything is of the same type, it may work much better given the fact that Drupal 7 was not a homongenous.

Company First Name Last Name City State County zip code Cell Phone Company Phone Email Website
20 20 Printing Inc Merilyn Bayless Santa Clara CA Santa Clara 95054 408-758-5015 408-346-2180 merilyn_bayless@cox.net http://www.printinginc.com
A All American Travel Inc Beckie Silvestrini Dearborn MI Wayne 48126 313-533-4884 313-390-7855 beckie.silvestrini@silvestrini.com http://www.aallamericantravelinc.com
A K Construction Co Tamar Hoogland London OH Madison 43140 740-343-8575 740-526-5410 tamar@hotmail.com http://www.akconstructionco.com
A R Packaging Joesph Degonia Berkeley CA Alameda 94710 510-677-9785 510-942-5916 joesph_degonia@degonia.org http://www.arpackaging.com
Abc Enterprises Inc Lavera Perin Miami FL Miami-Dade 33196 305-606-7291 305-995-2078 lperin@perin.org http://www.abcenterprisesinc.com
Accurel Systems Intrntl Corp Jeanice Claucherty Miami FL Miami-Dade 33142 305-988-4162 305-306-7834 jeanice.claucherty@yahoo.com http://www.accurelsystemsintrntlcorp.com
Ace Signs Inc Martina Staback Orlando FL Orange 32822 407-471-6908 407-429-2145 martina_staback@staback.com http://www.acesignsinc.com
Acme Supply Co Diane Devreese Saint Joseph MO Buchanan 64504 816-557-9673 816-329-5565 diane@cox.net http://www.acmesupplyco.com
Acqua Group Lashandra Klang King of Prussia PA Montgomery 19406 610-809-1818 610-378-7332 lashandra@yahoo.com http://www.acquagroup.com
Admiral Party Rentals & Sales Bulah Padilla Waco TX McLennan 76707 254-463-4368 254-816-8417 bulah_padilla@hotmail.com http://www.admiralpartyrentalssales.com

Pages